Reality of carp fishing

Slepy

Morning anglers,

I'm fairly new to the sport and have been fishing for carp sine 2018. 

One thing I have noticed is the pressure in the angling community applied by the big brands and manufacturers and sponsored anglers. The truth is other then your rods and reels and having your rig amongst hungry carp the rest is irrelevant. I been using cheap lines, home made rigs, variety of bait that some anglers wouldn't think to use and the results were the same as for those having to remortgage their house for a days fishing 😅.  From personal experience and I'm no branded scientist who can speak carp if the fish are hungry they will eat. How often do you open your fridge and don't find what you like and you eat what's there anyway because you are hungry. Obviously the introduction of certain baits does make carp fussy but I found using what never works on a venue for most anglers keeps catching me fish. I fished for carp in the States I had no idea about boilies pellets etc and all we used was a tin of corn and I caught more then I do sometimes on the boilies pellets etc. It's all very well watching monster carp and seeing 70lbs being pulled in like there is no tomorrow, but what they don't show is all the sonars and fish finders they use prior to the amazing footage on TV. Carp fishing  is meant to be a hobby, relaxing inexpensive way to forget about the world. Instead it's a expensive competition between anglers. 

Don't get me wrong it's all personal perception and each individual will feel different about it. In my personal opinion it all comes down to luck. You can have the most attractive bait, best rig in the world etc and you can blank or catch the same way I use whatever I can get my hands on (always safe for the fish) and catch or blank on my basic gear.