Bitter sweet day ... Spot of brain picking please guys

inhiding

Morning all,

I had a very wet session on Monday, was an odd an ultimately successful day when I caught my new PB of 16lb 10 ( mirror ) on a chod rig.

However, prior to this I had been " done " no less than 6 times during the course of the day on my more normal setup.

I have been fishing my lake for a couple of years now and have found what seems to be the most effective rig ( for me at least ). However on Monday it let me down badly and ad a result I chucked the chod out, although this worked I am interested in fine tuning my more normal rig which usually works well.

On each occasion my bait was picked up and I got a short run, I lifted into a fish briefly however it fell off after 1-4 seconds, it seems reasonable to assume that my hook hold could do with some improvement and I was hoping that someone may be able to give some pointers at what may help.

My "normal" rig comprises :-

Coated hook link approx 3-4 inches ( has shrunk over the last year as shorter seems to work better for me ). Last inch before hook striped away.

Size 8 hook arma point barbless ( rule ) with a slightly beaked point tied normal knotless knot style with a short shrink tube over the eye to pull the hook round as an aligned ( about 5 mm in length ).

My hair leaves about 5mm between the bend of the hook and the bait, I tend to use home made boilies of around 14-16mm.

This then goes onto a running rig with a light inline pear lead.

I am reasonably confident that there wasn't a tangle as I cast it out witha small pva stick on the hook link with the hook pulled into the bottom to keep it as god intended ( as it were ) :wink:

I hope that's enough detail :wink:

The lake is mostly clay bottomed wih a silty section, I was fishing on a raised section about 3 ft down a meter or so off an island.....

Ideas on a post card and any help appreciated ...

Ta for your attention...