Only my opinion

Guest Swamptrout

Guest Swamptrout

I have only been a member of this forum for a very short period and don't want to cause any ill feelings. I have watched a couple of video blogs and read a few posts very enjoyable. Something that disappointed me on one of these videos was  a reference made about Aussie anglers leaving rubbish on the bank of a waterway the gent was fishing. I definitely agree rubbish gets left as I have picked it up and put it into a bin only 30 meters away. To me the rubbish referred to in the video looked as though it had been washed down maybe from a creek or such, the stick referred to as an Aussie rod rest looked as though it had been in the water for a while, As for the tennis ball I have been fishing for many years and have never used one as bait or a float. There are other nationalities that fish not just AUSSIES, unless you witness the person leaving the rubbish you should not make these type of remarks. When I read the forum rules before I became a member I was under the impression these type of remarks would not be tolerated.

Guest Swamptrout

The point I was making was I believe that rubbish was washed ashore after a heavy rain not dumped as stated, and the remarks made about it being left by Aussie fisherman. I agree 100% about morons (I wouldn't refer to them as fisherman) leaving there rubbish, line and hooks lying around, and so do all the anglers I know.  

I'm familiar with the water Luke fishes and I know Luke well enough to know that he would not make those remarks without knowing for certain of the culprits. Having fished in Australia now for 13 years I'd say the worst issue is having to deal with other peoples litter, that and ignorance, there seems to be zero education about not littering, indeed some people seem to revel in it, at my local water when the locals pack up for the day at dusk its not uncommon to see them chuck all their rubbish in the lake!