Making a hair from a palomar knot

daniel62

Hi. I am new to carp fishing but have had some success catching on the surface. I have seen in a couple of videos (Terry Hearn) that he uses a palomar knot to tie the hook and then threads the tag end back through the eye and creates a short hair (for a mixer). Could someone please explain to me step by step how exactly to do this. I can't figure out how to tie the loop on the end of the hair. I have tried for bloody hours and can't manage! I don't know anyone else who goes fishing and where I fish is on private land and I am the only person who fishes there so theres no one to ask advice from.
Thakns for any help
Daniel

hi daniel, if you thread the line thru the eye then back again and leave a tail about 4" long, complete the palomar knot and pull down to the hook. now if you pinch the 'hair'  along the shank of the hook and double it back till you have 1 1/2" loop, you should be able to put an overhand knot in and pull it down with a gated bait hook.

i have done it numerous times and can now get the hair down to a reasonable size, so practice will make perfect.

i will see if i can find a vid for you :wink:

just on a side note, if you are using this to mount a mixer on the hook, consider using bait bands, easier and more effective imho

Edited by cyborx

Cyborx I use bait bands for this and find it much easier and the mixer is held closer to the shank.

I have two sizes, one that will hold a mixer and one where I use a bait drill to make a hole and pull the smaller bait band through with a baiting needle and secure with a bit of twig. You can use boilie stops but you can lose them after a few casts. I know they don't cost much but in my eyes it's a waste.

I've tried using a hair and struggle to get it tight to the shank.