50mm Butt Guides

Hi,

I am new to carp fishing and fish a small venue. Whilst looking for new tackle to upgrade to I found both the Daiwa powermesh, 12ft 2.75lb, and the Shimano tx2's also 12ft and 2.75 tc. I favoured the Daiwa powermesh until I read that it had 50mm Butt guides. Bearing in mind the furthest I would need to cast is roughly 50yards, the bigger guides would be of no use.

I was wondering -because of the 50mm Butt Guides- if i would have to pair the rod with a big pit reel or a "mini" big pit? Or could i use a normal freespool reel?

Or should I just get the Shimano tx2's and pair it with a 6000 or 10000 reel for the close in fishing and be worry free?

6 hours ago, TaylorR said:

Hi,

I am new to carp fishing and fish a small venue. Whilst looking for new tackle to upgrade to I found both the Daiwa powermesh, 12ft 2.75lb, and the Shimano tx2's also 12ft and 2.75 tc. I favoured the Daiwa powermesh until I read that it had 50mm Butt guides. Bearing in mind the furthest I would need to cast is roughly 50yards, the bigger guides would be of no use.

I was wondering -because of the 50mm Butt Guides- if i would have to pair the rod with a big pit reel or a "mini" big pit? Or could i use a normal freespool reel?

Or should I just get the Shimano tx2's and pair it with a 6000 or 10000 reel for the close in fishing and be worry free?

Personally I hate 50mm ringsets. Bare in mind that it then follows that the rings going up the blank are also larger than with a 40mm ringset. This can have quite an effect on the action of a blank, particularly lighter ones.

Sadly 50mm butt rings are a current fashion that most of us simply don't need, like, to be honest 3.25lb test curve rods.

Unless you can really push a rod to its limit and maximum cast, then even with Big Pits, 50mm rings are a waste of time. In fact, in some cases, they can make your casting worse, dependant on how the line comes off the reels.