Using Sea Mono for spodding and using a normal reel for marker work.

Hey Guys,

A two part question.

I'm just getting into spodding and need to put line on my spod reel, i know casting braid can be tricky with wind knots and such and had an idea of using a sea mono line at around 60-80lb breaking strain straight through without a shock leader, has anyone used mono for spodding? I know it probably wont be any good for marker work due to the strecth in it... or maybe it would be, i have never done much marker work either! :lol:

My thought process is that sea line is designed to cast leads going up to 8/9oz which is more than a large spomb is when its full i'd imagine so should easily take casting a spod/spomb. i have a big pit for my spod rod so the larger diameter line isn't an issue.

And i'm thinking of using a standard carp reel for my marker work, as most of my fishing is done at no more than 60-80 yards at max and majority of time it's more like 50 yard and i can easily cast a standard reel that far. Anyone see any potential issues i may have with this?

I use 15lb mono with a 50lb shockleader for spodding. In fact I use 'last years' mono which I wind off my fishing reel onto the spod reel, then tie on new shockleader.

As for marker reel, I use the same type of reel for marker as I use for my fishing, admittedly a 7000 Beastmaster, but for years it was an old Shimano 4000 size baitrunner, same size as I used for fishing. That would be equivalent to a modern 6000 size baitrunner.

11 minutes ago, salokcinnodrog said:

I use 15lb mono with a 50lb shockleader for spodding. In fact I use 'last years' mono which I wind off my fishing reel onto the spod reel, then tie on new shockleader.

As for marker reel, I use the same type of reel for marker as I use for my fishing, admittedly a 7000 Beastmaster, but for years it was an old Shimano 4000 size baitrunner, same size as I used for fishing. That would be equivalent to a modern 6000 size baitrunner.