Lakeview, Cornwall

Hi all, first post on the forum.

There is very little written about Lakeview Country Club, Cornwall on the net so thought i would add my thoughts as i have been fishing here for best part of 20 years.

Brief History: When the Country Club first open it was a leading place for fishing, food and accommodation, with three lake, long island, Moorland, and the specimen Lake. offering anything from tiddler bashing through to the lumps found in the well designed specimen lake (not Moorland) the one hid away behind the club house, which I was lucky enough to see it when it was drained, it showed the work that had gone into digging, with gullies, bars, plateau’s, deep holes, marginal shelfs etc.

The Lakeview Country Club complex featured on the front page of the Angling Times year book and a review written by Paul Gascoigne who apparently was a regular there, it was a much better fishery than White Acres a few mile down the road.

Unfortunately the then specimen pit, which was set back behind the club house and could be accessed by car, had many of its very large Carp stolen. It was decided to empty the remaining fish and drain the lake. This was some 10-15 years ago and it sat waterless until recently and has now been re filled and is the most gorgeous lake i have fished in a long time, but the stock in here is now apparently small carp and many silver fish, but a beautiful place to fish.

Long Island and Moorland lakes, 10 or so years ago (before current ownership) offered fantastic fishing, moorland always holding the large fish (biggest i had was a 19 pound Ghostie) but had seen pictures of 20’s, although there was plenty of smaller ones here. Long Island was the match lake with large bags always possible in the 100lbs. I heard a rumour that when the complex feel into new management a lot of the large carp, including Ghostie’s were netted and sold on, the pollution issue that i have read about, never really happened.